Dedication of the Hurtwood
On October 13, 1926, the deed of dedication of The Hurtwood was signed by R.A. Bray and the Bray family has upheld the dedication ever since. The Duke of Northumberland also signed a deed of dedication.
Soon afterwards, the Hurtwood Control Committee was formed; a few basic rules and regulations were adopted, and subscriptions invited; tree planting resumed. The Hurtwood, as we know it, was reborn. In over three-quarters of a century since then, Hurtwood Control Committee has gone from strength to strength. It became a registered charity and established a network of Friends, whose loyal support makes it possible to maintain the beauty of the The Hurtwood and its access to a higher standard than ever before, for the benefit of an ever-increasing number of people. Most recently the Hurtwood Control renamed itself Friends of the Hurtwood to better reflect the importance of Friends to the Hurtwood.
In 2000, the CROW (Countryside & Rights of Way) Act gave everyone the legal right to walk throughout common land – but The Hurtwood dedication goes further. It gives people permission to ride over The Hurtwood, either on horseback or on bicycle – and in recent years mountain bikers have become some of our most active supporters.
With no statutory funding, the committee relies on people who love The Hurtwood to contribute financial support so that this beautiful landscape can be maintained, the paths and views kept open and wildlife habitats protected.
The Hurtwood is dedicated to the public, and in return, we ask that our visitors respect its forestry, its wildlife, and one another – and that, whenever possible, they become our Friends, to help the Friends of the Hurtwood to preserve and share the enjoyment of this unique place, in partnership with its landowners, and fulfil Reggie Bray’s vision for generations to come.